Praries & Lakes
Lake Worth
Lake Worth Information:
The 3,489 surface acre Lake Worth was impounded in 1914 on the West Fork of the Trinity River. Lake construction cost $1.6 million. It was the second municipal water supply built in Texas, and the only water supply owned by the City of Fort Worth. The first was White Rock Lake in Dallas. The lake is located entirely within the city limits of Fort Worth. It is fed by the Trinity River from Eagle Mountain Lake. The lake covers 8.48 square miles and has a maximum depth is 22 feet. It is largely surrounded by residential housing and boat docks. The lake is located on Loop 820 and on Jacksboro Highway (SH 199), 6 miles northwest of Fort Worth.  
Lake Worth Location Map 
Current Lake Worth Lake Level 
Lake Worth TPWD Public Access Facilities Map 
Trinity River:
The Trinity River rises in three principal branches, the East Fork, the Elm Fork, and the West Fork; a shorter and smaller fourth stream is named the Clear Fork. The East Fork of the Trinity River rises in central Grayson County and flows south seventy-eight miles, through Collin, Rockwall, Dallas, and Kaufman Counties, to the southwestern part of Kaufman County, where it joins the West Fork. The Elm Fork of the Trinity rises in eastern Montague County and flows southeast eighty-five miles, through Cooke and Denton Counties, to its confluence with the West Fork at the beginning of the Trinity River proper just north of Hampton Road, a mile west of downtown Dallas. The Clear Fork of the Trinity rises in northwestern Parker County and flows forty-five miles to join the West Fork of the Trinity at Fort Worth in central Tarrant County. From the junction of the East and West Forks the Trinity River Proper continues southeast, forming the boundaries between several Texas counties. It then cuts across northern Walker County to form a portion of the county line between Walker and Trinity counties and the county line between Trinity and San Jacinto, and San Jacinto and Polk Counties. At the northern county line of Liberty County the Trinity turns almost directly south, cutting across Liberty and Chambers Counties, to its mouth on Trinity Bay just west of Anahuac. The Trinity flows 423 miles from the confluence of the Elm and West Forks to the coast, making it the longest river having its entire course in Texas. In addition to several dams on the river’s tributaries, the Trinity is dammed just above Camilla in San Jacinto County to form Livingston Reservoir. Other river lakes include Grapevine Lake, Lavon Lake, Ray Roberts Lake, Lake Arlington, Lake Worth, Eagle Mountain Lake and Lewisville Lake. Cities located on the Trinity River include Dallas, Fort Worth, Arlington, Garland, Irving, Richardson, Plano, Grand Prairie, Baytown, Mesquite, Camilla and Anahuac.  Clear Fork Fish Stocking History  Trinity River Fish Stocking History