Praries & Lakes
Lavon Lake
Lavon Lake Information:
The Lavon Lake Dam is located on the East Fork of the Trinity River, approximately 4 miles east of Wylie, Texas. Construction on the dam began in January of 1948 and was completed in 1953. The 21,400 surface acre lake has over 121 miles of shoreline and a maximum depth of 59 feet. The reservoir size was doubled in 1974. Lavon Lake is part of the Trinity River Project in the Fort Worth District of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. The Ray Olinger Power Plant is located near Little Ridge Park. Approximately 1.6 million people visit Lavon Lake each year to enjoy camping, fishing, swimming, boating and much more. Lake facilities include 16 parks, 19 boat ramps, 2 privately owned marinas, a fishing pier, 5 beaches, tent campsites, group shelters, and the 9 mile Trinity Equestrian and Hiking Trail. The lake is located off SH 78 in Collin County, northeast of Dallas and 4 miles northwest of Wylie, Teas.
Lavon Lake Location Map  
Current Lavon Lake Level 
Lavon Lake Facilities Map     
Lavon Lake TPWD Public Access Facilities & Map
Lavon Lake Hunting Map
Lavon Lake Parks & Boat Ramps Open/Closure Status
Trinity River:
The Trinity River rises in three principal branches, the East Fork, the Elm Fork, and the West Fork; a shorter and smaller fourth stream is named the Clear Fork. The East Fork of the Trinity River rises in central Grayson County and flows south seventy-eight miles, through Collin, Rockwall, Dallas, and Kaufman Counties, to the southwestern part of Kaufman County, where it joins the West Fork. The Elm Fork of the Trinity rises in eastern Montague County and flows southeast eighty-five miles, through Cooke and Denton Counties, to its confluence with the West Fork at the beginning of the Trinity River proper just north of Hampton Road, a mile west of downtown Dallas. The Clear Fork of the Trinity rises in northwestern Parker County and flows forty-five miles to join the West Fork of the Trinity at Fort Worth in central Tarrant County. From the junction of the East and West Forks the Trinity River Proper continues southeast, forming the boundaries between several Texas counties. It then cuts across northern Walker County to form a portion of the county line between Walker and Trinity counties and the county line between Trinity and San Jacinto, and San Jacinto and Polk Counties. At the northern county line of Liberty County the Trinity turns almost directly south, cutting across Liberty and Chambers Counties, to its mouth on Trinity Bay just west of Anahuac. The Trinity flows 423 miles from the confluence of the Elm and West Forks to the coast, making it the longest river having its entire course in Texas. In addition to several dams on the river’s tributaries, the Trinity is dammed just above Camilla in San Jacinto County to form Livingston Reservoir. Other river lakes include Grapevine Lake, Lavon Lake, Ray Roberts Lake, Lake Arlington, Lake Worth, Eagle Mountain Lake and Lewisville Lake. Cities located on the Trinity River include Dallas, Fort Worth, Arlington, Garland, Irving, Richardson, Plano, Grand Prairie, Baytown, Mesquite, Camilla and Anahuac.
Clear Fork Fish Stocking History 
Trinity River Fish Stocking History 
Lavon Lake Directions:
The lake is off SH 78 in Collin County, northeast of Dallas and 4 miles northwest of Wylie, Texas.