Cooke, Denton, Grayson
Praries & Lakes
Ray Roberts Lake
Ray Roberts Lake Information:
Originally known as Aubrey Reservoir, the 25,600 surface acre Lake Ray Roberts was created on the Elm Fork of the Trinity River to provide water to the Cities of Dallas and Denton. The dam is located in Denton County. The 20 mile long lake was impounded in 1987, and has a maximum depth of 106 feet. The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers leased the lake to the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department who manages all lake facilities and lake activities. Facilities include the three units of Ray Roberts Lake State Park (Johnson Branch Unit, Isle Du Bois Unit, and the Jordan Unit), the Ray Roberts Lake WMA, satellite parks, and the 40 acre Elm Fork Nature Preserve. Lake Ray Roberts is located 10 miles north of Denton, Texas off FM 455. 
Ray Roberts Lake Location Map 
Current Ray Roberts Lake Level 
Ray Roberts Lake TPWD Public Access Facilities Map 
Trinity River:
The Trinity River rises in three principal branches, the East Fork, the Elm Fork, and the West Fork; a shorter and smaller fourth stream is named the Clear Fork. The East Fork of the Trinity River rises in central Grayson County and flows south seventy-eight miles, through Collin, Rockwall, Dallas, and Kaufman Counties, to the southwestern part of Kaufman County, where it joins the West Fork. The Elm Fork of the Trinity rises in eastern Montague County and flows southeast eighty-five miles, through Cooke and Denton Counties, to its confluence with the West Fork at the beginning of the Trinity River proper just north of Hampton Road, a mile west of downtown Dallas. The Clear Fork of the Trinity rises in northwestern Parker County and flows forty-five miles to join the West Fork of the Trinity at Fort Worth in central Tarrant County. From the junction of the East and West Forks the Trinity River Proper continues southeast, forming the boundaries between several Texas counties. It then cuts across northern Walker County to form a portion of the county line between Walker and Trinity counties and the county line between Trinity and San Jacinto, and San Jacinto and Polk Counties. At the northern county line of Liberty County the Trinity turns almost directly south, cutting across Liberty and Chambers Counties, to its mouth on Trinity Bay just west of Anahuac. The Trinity flows 423 miles from the confluence of the Elm and West Forks to the coast, making it the longest river having its entire course in Texas. In addition to several dams on the river’s tributaries, the Trinity is dammed just above Camilla in San Jacinto County to form Livingston Reservoir. Other river lakes include Grapevine Lake, Lavon Lake, Ray Roberts Lake, Lake Arlington, Lake Worth, Eagle Mountain Lake and Lewisville Lake. Cities located on the Trinity River include Dallas, Fort Worth, Arlington, Garland, Irving, Richardson, Plano, Grand Prairie, Baytown, Mesquite, Camilla and Anahuac. Clear Fork Fish Stocking History  Trinity River Fish Stocking History