Jack, Wise
Praries & Lakes
Lake Bridgeport
Lake Bridgeport Information:
The 11,954 surface acre lake is located upstream from Eagle Mountain Lake on the West Fork of the Trinity River in Jack and Wise Counties off U.S. 380. Construction on the 137 foot tall Dam began in 1929, and the lake was impounded in 1932. The total cost was $2,316,000. The lake is 19 miles long, 5.9 miles wide at its widest point, has 129 miles of shoreline, and has an average depth of 35 feet and a maximum depth of 85 feet. The three lake islands are Stripling Island, Horse Island, and Rattlesnake Island. The Tarrant Regional Water District manages the lake. Nearby towns include Chico, Runaway Bay and Bridgeport. Recreation facilities include Wise County Park, and marinas and boat ramps. The Lake is located just southwest of the Caddo-LBJ National Grasslands, midway between Decatur and Jacksboro.  
Current Lake Bridgeport Lake Level
Lake Bridgeport Location Map   
Lake Bridgeport Facilities Map  
TPWD Lake Bridgeport Public Access Facilities Map
Trinity River:
The Trinity River rises in three principal branches, the East Fork, the Elm Fork, and the West Fork; a shorter and smaller fourth stream is named the Clear Fork. The East Fork of the Trinity River rises in central Grayson County and flows south seventy-eight miles, through Collin, Rockwall, Dallas, and Kaufman Counties, to the southwestern part of Kaufman County, where it joins the West Fork. The Elm Fork of the Trinity rises in eastern Montague County and flows southeast eighty-five miles, through Cooke and Denton Counties, to its confluence with the West Fork at the beginning of the Trinity River proper just north of Hampton Road, a mile west of downtown Dallas. The Clear Fork of the Trinity rises in northwestern Parker County and flows forty-five miles to join the West Fork of the Trinity at Fort Worth in central Tarrant County. From the junction of the East and West Forks the Trinity River Proper continues southeast, forming the boundaries between several Texas counties. It then cuts across northern Walker County to form a portion of the county line between Walker and Trinity counties and the county line between Trinity and San Jacinto, and San Jacinto and Polk Counties. At the northern county line of Liberty County the Trinity turns almost directly south, cutting across Liberty and Chambers Counties, to its mouth on Trinity Bay just west of Anahuac. The Trinity flows 423 miles from the confluence of the Elm and West Forks to the coast, making it the longest river having its entire course in Texas. In addition to several dams on the river’s tributaries, the Trinity is dammed just above Camilla in San Jacinto County to form Livingston Reservoir. Other river lakes include Grapevine Lake, Lavon Lake, Ray Roberts Lake, Lake Arlington, Lake Worth, Eagle Mountain Lake and Lewisville Lake. Cities located on the Trinity River include Dallas, Fort Worth, Arlington, Garland, Irving, Richardson, Plano, Grand Prairie, Baytown, Mesquite, Camilla and Anahuac.
Clear Fork Fish Stocking History 
Trinity River Fish Stocking History